Darmstadt University of Technology (TUD), Germany

The Darmstadt University of Technology has about 16,000 students and about 3,500 staff members. The Institute of Political Science is a part of the Department for Social Science and History (Gesellschafts- und Geschichtswissenschaft), containing the Institutes of Political Science, History, Sociology, Philosophy, Theology and Ethics as well as German and English Language and Literature. The Faculty for Social Science and History is the biggest faculty of the University. The Institute of Political Science has five sections covering the core fields of German Political Science: Political Theory and Political Philosophy, Comparative Analysis of Political Systems, Political System of Germany, International Relations and Foreign Policy, and finally Public Administration, Public Policy and Local Politics. The Institute consists of more than 20 research associates.

The Institute provides three study courses: Magister Artium for Political Science, Lectureship in Social Science for Comprehensive Secondary Schools and Vocational Schools and the new Bachelor of Arts/Master of Administration for Political Science. More information about the Institute is available on its website ( - mostly in German).

The core of the Institute’s research is focused on democratic forms of multi-level governance in the EU. The Institute has accumulated considerable expertise in the analysis of different policy fields, especially those which are affected by European integration such as regional policy, environment policy, migration policy. The section headed by Prof. Dr. Hubert Heinelt has numerous research projects; for details see our web page at The section has six research associates. Dr. Michael Haus (Assistant Professor), Dr. Britta Meinke (Lecturer and Researcher), Christine König and Björn Egner (both research assistants) are mainly involved in the PLUS Project. Nikolaos Georgakis and Georgios Terizakis (both research assistants as well) are working on other projects of the section, while Anne Spiegel and Ulrich Benschen (both student assistants) and Edith Peper (secretary) are supporting the section’s daily work.

The Darmstad Team
The Darmstadt Team
L to R: Edith Peper (Secretary), Prof. Hubert Heinelt, Dr.Britta Meinke, Dr. Michael Haus, Björn Egner (M.A.), Christine König (M.A.)

Michael Haus
Technische Universität Darmstadt, Institut für Politikwissenschaft, Residenzschloß, 64283 Darmstadt, Germany 
Tel: +49(0)6151/16-2943 Fax: +49(0)6151/16-4602

Hubert Heinelt
Technische Universität Darmstadt, Institut für Politikwissenschaft, Residenzschloß, 64283 Darmstadt, Germany 
Tel: +49 6151 162242 Fax: +49 6151 16-4602


Landeshauptstadt Hannover

Town Hall from Above

Hannover Town Hall from above  
©2002 City of Hannover

Walter Richter

Landeshauptstadt Hannover, Director, 
Amt für Koordinierung, Controlling und Stadtentwicklung, Trammplatz 2, 30159 Hannover, Germany
Tel: +49 511 168 46232 Fax: +49 511 168 42625

Reinhard Martinsen

Landeshauptstadt Hannover, Trammplatz 2, 30159 Hannover, Germany 
Tel: +49 511 168 44466 Fax: +49 511 168 44025 

Stadt Heidelberg

Wochenmarkt vor dem Rathaus
Weekly Market in front of the Town Hall

Bruno Schmaus

Stadt Heidelberg, Director, Amt für Stadtentwicklung und Statistik, 
PO Box 105520, Marktplatz 10 (Rathaus), 69045 Heidelberg, Germany
Tel: +49 6221 58 2150 Fax: +49 6221 58 462150

Click on the titles below to visit the pages of other member countries of the PLUS Consortium

Germany Greece Italy The Netherlands New Zealand
Norway Poland Sweden United Kingdom Consortium